By default, Windows Home Server creates a documents directory for each user in the Windows Home Server network. In addition, ALL users have access to common, shared folders. These include the following:
- Music - A shared folder for MP3, WMA, M4P, etc
- Photos - A shared folder for your family's digital photos
- Public - This is a handy folder that everyone has access to that you can use for whatever purpose you choose.
- Home Server Restore CD
- Home Server Connection Software
- Users - Contains the personal documents of each user in the Home Server Network
- Videos - WMV, MP4, MPEG2, DV-AVI, etc
In the default setup, you can access the Shared Documents folder from any machine in the WHS network by double-clicking the Shared Folders icon on your desktop (of the client machine) or by going to Start and typing \\server in the Run or Search box.
Accessing and Modifying Shared Folders on the WHS Console
On the Console side, you have many options when it comes to Shared Folders. You can:
- Add a Shared Folder - if there is a folder that you feel should be Shared on the Server with your network, you can add it via the Console and it can have all of the same benefits as the other Shared Folders, including duplication
- View Properties - change settings like Enable/Disable folder duplication and modify user access privilages
- Open - you can also browse and view files and folders by Opening them
- View History - WHS Console also allows you to see the History of the shared folders in terms of Space... so you can monitor how large they are and WHEN they became large.
Adding a Shared Folder
On the Shared Folders tab on the console, click Add to start the Add a Shared Folder wizard. A shared folder name can contain only letters, numbers, spaces, and any of the following characters: . - _ The name must end with a letter or number.
When you add a new shared folder, you can enable Folder Duplication if your home server has more than one hard drive.
You can set the following types of access that each user account can have to a shared folder:
The user can view, add, modify, and delete files in the shared folder.
The user can view files in the shared folder, but cannot add, modify, or delete the files.
The user cannot view, add, modify, or delete files in the shared folder.
After you add a shared folder, some users may receive Access Denied errors when they try to access the shared folder. If this happens, they may need to log off and then log on to their home computer before they can access the shared folder.
Viewing a Shared Folders Properties
On the Shared Folders tab on the console, click a shared folder and then click Properties to open the properties page for a shared folder.
On the General tab of the properties page, you can change the name, description, and Folder Duplication settings.
On the User Access tab of the properties page, you can change the user-account access to the shared folder. If the shared folder is associated with a specific user account, the name of user account appears in bold.
If you change the user access to a shared folder, some users may receive Access Denied errors when they try to access the shared folder. If this happens, they may need to log off and then log on their home computer before they can access the shared folder again.
Removing a Shared Folder
On the Shared Folders tab on the console, click a shared folder and then click Remove to remove a shared folder and all its contents. Note:You cannot remove the shared folders that are automatically created, such as Music, Photos, etc.
What is Folder Duplication?
Folder Duplication is a technology that duplicates folders and files across multiple hard drives. Any folder that has Folder Duplication enabled uses twice the amount of server storage.
If you enable Folder Duplication and then one hard drive fails, you do not lose any files that are stored in a shared folder. You should remove and replace a failed hard drive as soon as possible.
Folder Duplication can take a while to complete, depending on how many files and folders are on your home server. Folder Duplication is done in the background, so you can continue using Windows Home Server while it is taking place.